Developing Quality Peer and Self Assessment

The CPD PARADOX

In this post, I will go over a few strategies that I use in my lessons to improve the  quality  of peer and self-assessment.  While this is not a stand-alone training session but instead simply a collection of resources and tools that I use with my classes, they could easily be put together to become a discreet CPD session on developing skills in using peer and self-assessment.

Strategy 1: Aiding student reflection and metacognition

This is a very simple resource that I used in lots of my lessons as a plenary  between activities.  I have built a reflection display using the sentence stems here that occupies a wall of my classroom.

The sentence stems are as follows:

  • The most difficult thing was…
  • I think I need to improve on…
  • I now understand that…
  • I am now able to…
  • If I did my work again I would change…
  • I have learnt…

View original post 831 more words

Leave a Reply

